Vice-President of the «Russian Forest» Association Sergey Pakhalyuk took part in the work of the Forest Forum in Yakutsk.

As part of the discussion at the site dedicated to the unique use of nature in the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia), he proposed rational measures for effective interaction with indigenous and small peoples of the North, Siberia and the Far East on forest management issues.

Sergey Pakhalyuk noted that according to international practice, indigenous and small peoples have the right to lands and resources that they traditionally owned. And the state, in turn, must coordinate with them legislative or administrative measures.

The problem is that the legislative base of Russia contains the necessary guarantees for the preservation of tribal lands, but does not offer specific mechanisms for forest users. The most effective measure of interaction is considered an agreement between subsoil users and communities (families) with a list of mutual obligations and the prescribed system of punishment for their violation.

«In practice, it is not always possible to achieve a constructive dialogue with indigenous people due to the lack of opportunity to establish direct contact with them. In this regard, we propose to consider the fact that each tribal community has its own legal representative in the region of its presence», — the vice-president of the «Russian Forest» Association concluded.

 

In the Russian Federation the number of indigenous and minority peoples of the North, Siberia and the Far East is slightly more than 250 thousand people living in 28 subjects, including those leading a nomadic lifestyle, approximately a little more than 100 thousand people.

Вице-президент ассоциации «Русский лес» Сергей Пахалюк принял участие в работе Лесного форума в Якутске.

В рамках дискуссии на площадке, посвященной самобытности природопользования Республики Саха (Якутия), он предложил рациональные меры для эффективного взаимодействию с коренными и малочисленными народами Севера, Сибири и Дальнего Востока по вопросам лесопользования.

Сергей Пахалюк отметил, что согласно международной практике, коренные и малочисленные народы имеют право на земли и ресурсы, которыми традиционно владели. А государство, в свою очередь, должно согласовывать с ними законодательные или административные меры.
Проблема заключается в том, что законодательная база России содержит необходимые гарантии сохранения родовых угодий, но не предлагает конкретные механизмы для лесопользователей. Самой эффективной мерой взаимодействия считается соглашение между недропользователями и общинами (семьями) с перечнем взаимных обязательств и прописанная система наказания за их нарушения.

«На практике не всегда удается достичь конструктивного диалога с представителями коренных народов ввиду отсутствия возможности установить с ними прямой контакт. В связи с этим предлагаем рассмотреть вопрос о том, чтобы у каждой родовой общины был свой законный представитель в регионе присутствия», - заключил вице-президент ассоциации «Русский лес».
Напомним, что в Российской Федерации численность коренных и малочисленных народов Севера, Сибири и Дальнего Востока составляет чуть более 250 тысяч человек, проживающих в 28 субъектах, в том числе ведущих кочевой образ жизни, ориентировочно чуть более 100 тысяч человек.